Write it down

Living life is an adventure in itself, and through humour, pictures and general ranting, I’ll share this adventure with you.

I’m home.

Have you ever taken a moment to reflect? Reflect on how you got to where you are right now. Sometimes instead of walking through life, we run, never taking the time to enjoy the smallest things that should make us feel on top of the world.

What am I talking about?

We all get a little down sometimes. Our alarm goes off on our day-off, and instead of jumping out of bed, happy to have the day to “ourself”, we lay there until noon, feeling no urge to get up. We think “how is it that my life has become all about work?” I had this very thought last-weekend. I had so many plans, but just couldn’t get up.

Well, this weekend I did get up. This weekend, I put on some music, made myself some coffee, and for the first time in 5 months, I decided to write in my blog.

I took the time to read past-posts, take a look at my “Day Zero” list, and then I realized: wow, I am living the life I imagined! I had been so busy trying to make it happen, that I failed to realize I am well on my way.

We become so caught-up in the everyday, that we forget to look at the bigger picture sometimes. Right now, you may not be working your dream-job. But, as long as you have it in your mind that you want to be doing something different, I promise that somehow it’s going to work out.

I would laugh at those who told me “put it out in the Universe, and it will happen”. Yeah, okay you crazy hippy.

But for real, I hate to be the one to say it, it’s true.

It’s called the “law of attraction” and it’s preached at every inspirational presentation I’ve been to. We’ve all heard the stories of that person who made a “dream board” and on it he had pasted a picture of his ideal home. Years later, his daughter finds that dream board, and says “Dad, you pasted a picture of our house on this board”, and sure enough, he had bought the exact house he had imagined years before.

I’m not saying you have to believe these stories. But, could it really hurt to try? In a half-hour, you could write down a pretty solid list of the things you want. All you have to do is write it down – and really imagine that your life could be that way. Take that list and put it away. Eventually you’ll forget you ever made it. But then, months or maybe even years later, you’ll open that list and realize that you’ve accomplished some of the items.

Wow. I sound sickeningly New Age. Sorry!

Anyways, I guess what I’m trying to say is that I made A LOT of lists over the past 4 or 5 years, and when I read it over, I realize I’ve accomplished a lot:

  • Travel to Ireland – check
  • Travel to Europe – check
  • Move back to Toronto – check
  • Live in an awesome apartment – check
  • Have a career in my field – check
  • Have a cat – check
  • Live closer to my family – check

These are only a few. When I wrote these dreams down on a piece of paper, I was working as a server at a restaurant in Edmonton, AB with no plans to move back to Ontario. I had a boyfriend and had no plans to travel. I definitely had no intention of getting a cat anytime soon.

Two years later and my life has completely changed – I can’t think of any similarities.

So just try it – write down a list. What do you have to lose?

Leave a Reply

